Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

My favorite Christmas Present (that I gave) December 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 1:39 pm

I love to see the reactions of the gifts that we give during Christmas.  You know the feeling.  You put so much thought, so much effort, so much consideration, and sometimes so much crafting into your gifts.  Will they love them?  Will they be disappointed?

I made several of the gifts that I gave this year.  That is always nerve wracking for me.  It is hard to not get your feelings hurt when the gift you worked so hard on is not loved as much by the recipient as it is by you.  Happily, I can say that everyone loved my gifts and appreciate the hard work that was put in to  those gifts.

My favorite gift this season was for my sister in law.  I made her a beautiful family sign.  I was worried though.  She can buy anything that she wants.  Money is no object.  Would this be good enough?  It was!!!  She was thrilled.  I think it is the best and most loved gift that I have given her over the last 16 years.  She gushed and smiled and showed it off.  I gushed and smiled and felt so wonderful inside.  I spent exactly $1 on this gift.

Let me say that I know what the real meaning of Christmas is.  We have all been given the greatest gift of all.  A relationship with our Heavenly Father through Jesus Christ who was born to set us all free from our sins.  I know it isn’t about the gifts.  That is exactly why I wanted each gift that I made to have a special meaning to the recipient.  I wanted my gifts to convey the love that I feel for each person that received that gift.  I think I was successful in that.

Here is the beautiful family sign that I made for my sister in law.  She already has it hanging and each time she sees it, she will know how loved she is by our family.

I know that I would love to receive this as a gift.  How about you?

I’m linking this up to Kimba’s DIY day~~go check it out!

 

7 Responses to “My favorite Christmas Present (that I gave)”

  1. Nancy Says:

    I would love to receive that…well, maybe not if it said Bosworth! You did a great job! Did you paint it freehand…stencils…?? And where did you get the cute board? LOVE IT! Thanks for sharing.

  2. cha cha Says:

    How pretty, I love anything personel. What a great gift idea also. THANKS FOR SHARING AND HAPPY NEW YEAR

  3. Becky Says:

    What a special and thoughtful gift. I am going to remember this one for wedding gifts!

  4. Ashleigh Says:

    I love it! So personal and thoughtful. How did you make it? Was that an old sign you found somewhere and painted over?

  5. Rhonda Says:

    The base of the sign is an old cabinet door. I used paint and vinyl.

  6. grannyann Says:

    That is a neat idea. I once did some family signs on some neat wood shapes I got at a garage sale (like the old English tavern pattern). Mine hung outside for many years till I finally had to take it down and it was definitely weather worn. It had hung at the end of my car port. I never did redo it or do a new one.

  7. patti Says:

    I’d love that gift! It is so personal.

    I just found your blog on blogspot and am joining.

    Welcome.


Leave a Reply

