Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

Christmas Canvas Makeover December 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 9:49 am

I found these ugly and somewhat creepy Halloween canvases at Marshall’s after Halloween.

I knew I could make something far more interesting with these so I happily paid the confused looking clerk my $3 for all 4 and took them home where they sat for at least a month.  I couldn’t decide where I wanted them and how I wanted to change them.  So many possibilities!!

After I read about the Rus-Oluem Revamp contest at Shanty2Chic, I got the motivation that I needed to get these done!  I decided to make Christmas canvases with them and this was a super quick and easy project using Rust-Oleum paint and vinyl.

So I got out my trusty Rust-Oleum gray primer and gave them a good bath to cover all of the ugliness spewing forth.

Looking better already don’t you think?

Next, I got out my newly purchased and oh so pretty Colonial Red Satin by Rust-Oleum and went to work.

While the paint dried between coats, I got busy cutting my Christmas shapes with my vinyl.  (It took longer to decide on which shapes I wanted than it did to do all of the painting!)  The best part of this project is that the vinyl peels right off and the red matches my family room.  Do you get where I’m going here????

Here is the final project hanging on the wall that connects the kitchen and family room.

I’m linking this up to:

and

Be sure to check out all of the other great projects!!

Also linking up to:

 

10 Responses to “Christmas Canvas Makeover”

  1. Tricia Anne Says:

    How cute! Great job.
    Sincerely ~ Tricia Anne

  2. gail Says:

    very cute! great idea.

    gail

  3. Much better! They were kind of creepy looking, even for Halloween decor. Good price though and good thinking that you could transform them into something else.

  4. Jane Says:

    Super cute. I love how perfectly they fit in your plate rack. I need to think out of the box like that at those after holiday sales. Usually I am so sick of the previous holiday I can’t think ahead. So I miss out!

  5. nannykim Says:

    Ha! Too clever!!

  6. Melody Says:

    Reusable decor – what a great idea!

  7. Rhonda Says:

    I love it! Great job!

  8. Kara Says:

    Those turned out so cute! I know what you mean about taking forever to choose shapes. I am exactly the same way!

  9. Artie Says:

    Great job! Took Halloween to beautifully Christmas festive! Thanks for sharing. Definitely is going to make me think twice about those clearance canvases.

  10. Such a good idea- you can even find craft supplies at a non-craft store! I would have loved to have seen the look on the clerk’s face. 🙂


Leave a Reply

