Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

No Wimpy Garland Here!! December 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 4:51 pm

I decided that I would put up garland this year after scoring some at the Re Store along with a hideous floral arrangement that had some awesome greenery in it that I knew would look great.  I was too excited to take a before pic.  Sorry!  I decided I would hang it above the doorway leading from my family room to my dining room.  I pulled the ugly arrangement apart and then got some red berry sprigs from the Dollar Tree and a couple of greenery sprigs from Hobby Lobby at 50% off.

I love how this turned out so much that I went and bought some sad, puny garland and a couple of sprigs of greenery at Michael’s for around my front door outside.  I also found a really ugly greenery centerpiece at the Re Store that had some pieces that I could pull and use for filler.  I had some greenery that I had pulled from a wreath in the fall and some red berry filler left over from the Dollar Tree.  I wired some sets of 3 shatterproof Dollar Tree ornaments together and I was all set.  I began by wiring my puny garland together and fluffing.  How sad it was!!  I put some of the cheapo garland fringy stuff behind the strands and wired a strand of white lights to the whole thing.  Who knew it would take so long?!

Here is the sad before picture.  My cat had to check it out too.

Isn’t that better??  Here is another full shot:

I’m linking this up to The Inspired Room!

Here is a sneak peak at my next project for Shanty2Chic’s Rustoleum Project on Dec. 6!!

 

4 Responses to “No Wimpy Garland Here!!”

  1. teresa Says:

    Sweet- love what you have done.
    The little black chair at the entry is a great touch.
    Happy Day

  2. It turned out great! Your entry looks so warm, festive and welcoming. Good job. Have a great weekend!

  3. angi Says:

    love the doorway

  4. how beautiful there is!thx? for u to did that and showed us~~


Leave a Reply

