Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

From Cabinet door to Family keepsake!~ November 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 10:21 am

I have always loved the personalized signs that I see in catalogs and on other blogs.  I have been wanting to make ours for a while.  I bought an old cabinet door at the Re Store a while back that I thought would be perfect for the task.  It sat and sat but I finally got around to making it last week.  I just love how it turned out and it was really easy to do!! Here is a before shot:

100_1464

Cabinet door in the sanding process

Then I removed the hardware and painted a base coat of ivory with craft paint.

Base coat of ivory

Then I cut the letters with my silhouette (it took me longer to find the perfect font than it did to make the sign!)  I stuck the letters in place on the cabinet door and then painted over with a coat of black craft paint.  I wanted to to look painted on instead of just vinyl letters stuck to a board.  I had never done this before so I wasn’t sure if it would peel the paint up or bleed under the letters.  It worked perfectly!!  I let the paint dry but not too long.  I then used my cutting tool thingy (I’m pretty sure that is the technical word) and peeled the letters off.  I sanded it a bit to look aged and I love how it turned out!!  It is hanging on a wall in my kitchen.  I love that the cabinet door had a groove routed out on each side so when turned horizontally, it created kind of a frame for the lettering.  That doesn’t make much sense.  Too early in the morning.  Oh well–here is the final product!

100_1475

100_1476

I will be linking this to Metamorphosis Monday at Between Naps on the Porch and DIY day at Kimba’s Soft Place to Land.

 

12 Responses to “From Cabinet door to Family keepsake!~”

  1. Maureen Says:

    Love it…..and the font!

  2. Sofia Says:

    That is great. I love the look and very clever.

  3. Astrid Says:

    I’m looking for ways to use a few of my cabinet doors. Great idea!

  4. Carolyn Says:

    I love that! It looks great!

  5. shannon Says:

    Oh I love it! I love the contrast with the black too. Great job. I have wanted a sign for a while too.. the only one I have made though is for outside. Thanks for sharing this!

  6. Katherine Says:

    That looks every bit as good as the “professional” ones you can buy online! I love it! Wonderful job.

  7. Cute! Great idea for an old cabinet door too!

  8. gail Says:

    I love it! You did a super job.

    gail

  9. Rachel @ Simply Rachel Says:

    I love it!!! I think I’ll be keeping an eye out for cabinet doors. Thanks for your comment about my chair!

  10. […] been making personalized signs with their last names on them. One in particular that I LOVE is here. So, she inspired me to make one myself! I picked up this at Goodwill for $2.00… It turned […]

  11. These are actually great ideas in concerning blogging.
    You have touched some nice points here. Any way keep up wrinting.


Leave a Reply

