Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

Ready for Halloween??? October 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 5:06 pm

I did a little ghoulish decorating over the weekend.  I have never decorated for Halloween before because I have always been teaching.  I love how my decorations have turned out so far!!   I got my biggest project idea from  The Idea Room.   http://theidearoom.blogspot.com/. 100_1418 100_1432

My kids painted the eyeballs!  They are my favorite part!!

My kids painted the eyeballs! They are my favorite part!!

A closer look at the eyeballs

A closer look at the eyeballs

I used Martha Stewarts technique of using hot glue to make cobwebs.  You can find it on her website.

I used Martha Stewarts technique of using hot glue to make cobwebs. You can find it on her website.

Fur of Were Wolf  aka  spanish moss

Fur of Were Wolf aka spanish moss

These little guys keep getting eaten!!

These little guys keep getting eaten!!

Twisted Twigs aka  licorice

Twisted Twigs aka licorice

A little stack of skulls nesting on a bed of coffee grounds!

Chalkboard in the kitchen with recipe for Witches Brew

Chalkboard in the kitchen with recipe for Witches Brew

100_1452_edited

Little candy bone necklace and bracelet set in my Rotten Sweets jar

Little candy bone necklace and bracelet set in my Rotten Sweets jar

I know that orange pumpkins aren't "in" right now, but nothing says fall more than an orange pumpkin

I know that orange pumpkins aren't "in" right now, but nothing says fall more than an orange pumpkin

I got the skeleton man on clearance at Michael’s a few years ago.  I love him!!  I do have some white pumpkins too.  They started as little green pumpkins that I painted ivory and then used rub on letters and metal letters to create BOO on one side and EEK on the other.  I got the cute little galvanized planter at the Habitat Re-Store for $2.

boo!

boo!

eek!

eek!

100_1451_edited

I whipped up this cute little plaque yesterday.  I just used my silhouette to cut out the witch boots and then added the phrase, “If the shoe fits….”  I believe it does.  I already had the little plain wood plaque from Dollar Tree and the vinyl.  It came with a wire hanger that I had taken off a while back (I’m sure with other intentions in mind that never came to fruition).  I just stapled some ribbon on the back to hang.  A cheap little sign that would be a great little Halloween gift.  I hung it on my garage door along with BOO! in vinyl.  Please don’t look closely at the door.   It is dirty and gross and will soon be painted black!!

100_1459_edited100_1458_editedI know this post was ridiculously boring long.  I am just so excited about my new found love of Halloween decorating.  I have decided to have a Halloween party with a twist:  It is going to be a “75% off Costume Party”.  It will be the weekend AFTER Halloween and  I everyone can buy more Halloween decorations can buy their costumes on clearance!!  Is that not the best?!  I can also leave my decorations up for another week!!  Happy Haunting everyone!!

Halloween couple

I’m linking this post to Kimba’s DIY day–there are always amazing things there!

I’m also linking to The DIY Show Off:  Fall Festival Week #7

 

11 Responses to “Ready for Halloween???”

  1. Leanne Says:

    I love all your halloween decor, especially all the labels on the bottles and jars. Thanks for sharing your great ideas.

  2. I LOVE you decor! So spooky! I’m so glad you shared your ideas and linked to the Fall Festival! 🙂

  3. Laurel Says:

    Love the skulls in the jar! Your home looks great!

  4. Carmen Says:

    Everything looks great! You gave some great ideas with the candy labels. And I might just have to copy your witches’ brew recipe on my kitchen chalkboard. 🙂

  5. Nissa Says:

    I used some of those labels too! All of your decor came out so cute–Happy Halloween!

  6. Wow, you did an awesome job!! I love the bottles and the Boo on the door is such a cute idea! Fabulous idea about the Halloween party too, such a $ saver for all your guests!

  7. Stefanie Says:

    LOVE IT ALL!!! Sooooo Spooky! We must have similar decorating styles because I have those skulls too 🙂 I think I need to make those pumpkins in the planters! Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting!!

  8. Chelsea Says:

    Great Halloween decor – I just love the labels. I printed out a few and they are a perfect touch.

    Chelsea

  9. Highlighting your project in tomorrow’s Fall Festival. 🙂

  10. hey dude
    Great stuff! i got a lot of inspiration from this post
    it is very interesting ….
    i went through this page two times
    am learning for social work

    Thanks


Leave a Reply

