Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

Forty! October 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 8:44 am

Today I turn 40.  I always thought this day would be different.  I don’t know why we place so much value in our age.  I am looking at 40 as my chance to start over.  A new decade, a new season for me.  This is the season that I will draw closer to my Savior, Jesus Christ.  This is the season that I will give more, be more compassionate, be more caring and loving, be who God intended me to be.  You see, I made a huge mess of my thirties.  In little ways that piled and piled on each other until they came crashing down at 39.  I now can go into my forties with the gift of hindsight.  What a fabulous thing.  I can also confidently enter my forties with the gift of GOD guiding me all the way.  I am no longer in control.  I have given the reigns to God.  I made a mess trying to do it all myself.  I know that will not happen with God taking the lead and guiding my path.  He has great things planned for me.  His will is far greater than mine could ever be.  I still have to remind myself of those things, I still struggle with making decisions based on what I want and not what He has planned.  It is amazing that it takes something to completely bring us to our knees before we let Him have total control.  He loves us so much more than we can imagine.  I am so thankful for that and thankful for his grace and mercy every single day!  I can look confidently ahead into my forties and know that I am not driving, but riding with the greatest driver of all time who will NEVER get me lost.  Only I can do that.  Thank you God for this new decade and a chance to start over!

40

I am a strong woman of God!  Forty does not scare me!!

 

Leave a Reply

