Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

Crispness of Fall October 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 8:50 pm

It is starting to feel like the transition of Fall in the South has begun.  I have been really inspired by so many incredible and beautifully decorated posts over at Rhoda’s fall party.  You must go and see the Fall goodness!!

Rhodas Fall Party

Rhoda's Fall Party

Well, here is the feeble attempt I have made at my Fall decorating.  After seeing all of the wonderful pictures though, I will certainly be adding to my decor!!

100_1326_edited

This is sitting on top of my entertainment center.  I got the pumpkin at $ Tree, candle stand at Habitat store (painted of course), and cheese dish/cloche at Salvation Army $2.

100_1328_edited

This is another $1 pumpkin that I put into my little “bird bath” surrounded by black beans.  The chalkboard beside it (homemade) has one of my favorite Bible verses on it.

“For I know the plans I have for you, “declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jeremiah 29:11

100_1329_edited

This is a terrible pic but there is a dark green gourd in the back with the striped gourd.  The big pumpkin is a twig pumpkin I got at the Habitat store for .50.  It had some tacky stuff glued all over it that I peeled off.  The white/orange striped gourd in the Southern Living container is resting on a soft bed of white and black beans.

100_1331_edited

100_1332_edited

100_1336_edited

A couple of $1 store crows nestled in with a couple of $1 painted gourds on the mantle.

100_1337_edited

This is the other end of the mantle.

100_1338_edited

I don’t know what is wrong with my picture taking ability.  I guess I really shouldn’t do this when I’m in a hurry.

100_1343_edited

I found these adorable ceramic pumpkins at Fred’s for $1.99 each.  I just love how they look in the Southern Living candle hurricanes.

100_1348_editedDining room table

100_1351_edited

100_1358_editedWhat would Oct. be without a cute little (.10) apothecary jar full of skulls?

100_1369_editedThe pumpkin on the chair is a fake that I got at Habitat for $1.  The white one is real and I just painted a G on it and popped it on an urn.  That is a pansy in the green pot and a cabbage in the terra cotta on a candle stick.  I never used my ice bucket/stand so I decided to plant my little fall garden in there.  This is on my front porch and I love the way it turned out!

100_1366_editedThis is on the other side of my porch.  Wow-I need to clean the slate don’t I?  Let’s just pretend shall we?  I painted the urn with Krylon Georgia Clay.  I thought it looked very “fall”.

100_1365_editedI had a fall wreath that was small so I cut all of the leaves off and put them on this grapevine wreath.  Then I added the G and used the ribbon to hand “a la Nester”.  I love the way it looks from the road and I have gotten lots of compliments on it.

100_1370_editedI so do not love the double doors on the front of the house.  I decided to put the house number on one and then decorate the other.  Maybe one day I can change the doors out.

100_1368_editedHere is the whole front porch look.  I so would love a big front porch and a beautiful screened in porch on the back to decorate.  Maybe one day….

I think my first attempt at Fall decorating turned out well.  I have so many more things I would like to do though after being inspired by the many beautiful blogs out there!!

Rhonda

 

7 Responses to “Crispness of Fall”

  1. Alicia Says:

    I love what you did! I’m a big fan of the $ store as well. I especially love the idea of the little skulls in the apothecary jar. I think I’ll search for some this weekend. I would love to have one on the counter in my bathroom!

    And I so Heart you twig pumpkin. I saw some in the pottery barn catalog and would love to have a couple of those.

    Thanks for sharing and please stop by and visit me. Happy Fall!

  2. I looove that wreath…I did mine with a letter too…check it out.Your front porch is looking really gooood! HAPPY FALL!

    Blessings,
    Linda

  3. Chari Says:

    Hello Rhonda…

    Ohhh…your home is absolutely gorgeous in all of its fall finery!!! I love your beautiful entryway…you have decorated it so cute! Love the pretty black chair and pumpkin and the tub full of flowers!!! One of my favorites is the hurricane lamps with the pretty pumpkins inside…love those!!! Well…you have sooo…soooo many pretties! Thank you so much for sharing them with us for the Fall party!!!

    Warmest wishes and Happy Fall!
    Chari

  4. Sue Says:

    Hi Rhonda, I’m glad you got a lot of ideas from the others who posted on Rhoda’s party. That’s why we’re here- to give inspiration… Have to love the dollar stores, don’t we? So many inexpensive and neat things at them. I know I picked up a few- and I had never been in a Dollar Tree before 2 weeks ago! Stop for a visit if you get time.
    🙂 Sue

  5. Marie Says:

    Hello Rhonda – lovin’ all your wonderful Fall inspiration! My fave is the pumpkin in the birdbath. Fabulous! I also love your front porch. So warm and welcoming! Thank you for sharing.

    Blessings,
    Marie

  6. lissa Says:

    Your entry is very welcoming. The 2nd pic. with the chalkboard is my favorite! cute!

  7. Sharon Says:

    Your front porch is beautifully done .. and says “Welcome Autumn” …. thanks for the inspiration.


Leave a Reply

