Sweet Tea and Spray Paint

My journey with God and my family to make our house a home in Christ (without spending much money)!

Frugal Message Board September 29, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Rhonda @ 9:30 am

I was at the Habitat ReStore the other day looking around.  The place just sucks you in like a vacuum.  Even though I wasn’t supposed to be there……So I found a cabinet door for $1 and 4 oil rubbed bronze “swirly” knobs for .25 each.  Hmmmmmmmm.  What could I do with these little gems???   I get home and unload my goodies.  Giddy with glee I am.  My new favorite thing is hubby’s cordless drill/screwdriver.  I just love drilling holes.  Here is my $2 message board!!

100_1314_edited

100_1316I distressed the edges a bit.  Aren’t these knobs great??

100_1317I just kept the hinges on and screwed it right to the wall using the hinges!  We use it all the time!!

Check out some of the other DIY projects at Kimba’s DIY day!

editing this to add to:

Check out all of the fab projects that the coolest women ever are doing without our hubbies.  (is that the correct plural???)

 

12 Responses to “Frugal Message Board”

  1. Gina Says:

    I love it! I’ve got those extra doors from my open shelving project-I never thought of adding knobs to them-great idea!

  2. Astrid Says:

    Very cool! I’ve thought about doing this with some of my old cabinet doors! It’s neat to see what they could look like…so I’ll be out buying chalkboard paint tomorrow!

  3. Christy Says:

    Looks great, and you can’t beat that price! Thanks for sharing.

  4. gail Says:

    cool! I love, love, love chalkboards. I did one last month, I don’t know how I ever got along without it!
    gail

  5. Suzanne Says:

    You did such a great job on your laundry room! I really like your dining room, too. The chalkboard is adorable~I love how the knobs look like outdoor water faucets knobs.

  6. Sue Says:

    Hi Rhonda, Wow- for a newbie blogger you have done some amazing things to post about! Your laundry room looks so clean and organized- gotta love black paint… And the dining room set also benefited from that color! I like to thrift/estate sale shop, too. It makes for some fun outings with Mr. Sullivan or my friend, SusieQ from RabbitRunCottage. And then of course, when I’m out alone, I’m totally a wild woman! I hope you will stop by again and show me what you do with any of the ideas you’ve gleaned from my fall post. I just love this season and have such fun decorating at home or for others.
    And welcome to blogging! Have fun with it.
    🙂 Sue

  7. Ashlee Says:

    Hi Rhonda! I too love your chalk board. I will have to check out the habitat restore in my area. Thank you for stopping by my blog and for the sweet comment. I would love it if you would follow me!

  8. Those knobs are fantastic! What a wonderful re-use project and so cute!

    Manuela

  9. cindy Says:

    What a scream! My project also used cabinet doors from the ReStore! Painted, distressed, but used cork. Your’s turned out so pretty…
    Pop over and compare notes :o)
    peace, cindy

  10. Sara Says:

    Wow, how neat! I love the knobs, such a nice touch.

  11. Whitney Says:

    Very cute! Great way to repurpose that door!! Thanks for linking up!
    ~Whitney

  12. Oh how cute…looove how you hung it with the hinges…thanks for sharing.

    Blessings,
    Linda


Leave a Reply

